Drunk driving in the United States continues to be a problem with drivers causing thousands of auto accidents and fatalities each year. And along with thousands of collisions, there are thousands of drunk-driving convictions. A DUI carries tremendous consequences - even if it's a first offense.
Most states have implemented a strict blood alcohol concentration limit for drivers and prohibit drivers from operating a motor vehicle if the driver has a .08 or higher blood alcohol concentration (BAC).
The state of Utah is no exception. An individual in Utah will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if caught driving with a BAC of .08 or more.
First Time DUI Penalties in Utah
A first-time offender convicted of DUI in Utah will face a mandatory 48 hour jail sentence (house arrest or community service are also possible alternatives), a minimum fine of $700, and a driver's license revocation for up to one year.
Second Time DUI Penalties in Utah
And an individual convicted of a second DUI (within 10 years of the first DUI) will face a mandatory 240 hour jail sentence (house arrest or community service are also possible alternatives), a minimum fine of $800, and a maximum two year driver's license suspension. The driver will also be required to install an ignition interlock device for at least three years.
Third time DUI Penalties in Utah
A third-time DUI in Utah is a felony offense. An offender convicted of a third drunk-driving offense faces five years of jail time (house arrest is also a possible alternative), a minimum fine of $1500, and a maximum three year minimum driver's license suspension. An ignition interlock device is also required for at least three years.
Penalties for Specific Drivers
Further, a Utah driver under the age of 21 caught operating a vehicle with any traces of alcohol in his or her blood will be charged with a DUI and face Utah drunk driving penalties.
And, a DUI charge in Utah isn't just limited to alcohol. Utah has a zero tolerance policy for a driver operating a vehicle under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine, inhalants, and cannabis or cannabis metabolites (commonly known as spice). A motorist faces an immediate mandatory 48-hour imprisonment and up to six months in jail if traces of any controlled substance under Utah law is found in the body of the driver.
Alcohol assessment and evaluation is also required for anyone convicted of a DUI in Utah. Utah drivers with a drunk-driving conviction will also be required to file an SR-22 insurance form with the Utah Department of Motor Vehicles.