Each year, the Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice releases a DUI report to the state legislature. They recently released the DUI report for the 2010 fiscal year.
In 2010, there were 15,285 DUI arrests in Utah, a drop of 398 from the 2009 numbers. Of those arrested, 67 percent were first-time offenders. While local law enforcement agencies account for nearly half of the drunk driving arrests in a particular region, the state highway patrol saw a 12 percent increase in the amount of DUI arrests they made since 2008. The majority of the arrests occurred in high-population areas, with 73 percent coming from Weber, Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties.
In Tooele County, 2010 numbers were exactly the same with those from 2009, with 406 arrests. Officials contend that the number of drunk drivers may be higher due to the amount of rural areas within the county that are difficult for police to patrol.
Tough Penalties for Utah Drunk Drivers
Law enforcement official in Utah take DUI charges very seriously. Those who are arrested can expect to face aggressive prosecution and tough penalties.
First-time DUI offenders usually face a license suspension of up to 90 days and potentially six months in jail. If an impaired driver is charged with a second or third offense within a ten-year period, the penalties become more severe.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Utah, speaking to an experienced Utah criminal defense attorney is recommended. Your attorney