It is not unusual for teenagers in Salt Lake City to attend parties, and it is also not unusual for alcohol to be served at these parties, even if the teenagers are under the legal drinking age. While most parents hope their children will behave responsibly in such situations, for a variety of reasons — whether it is due to peer pressure or simply because they are too young to mentally comprehend the consequences — sometimes an individual under age 21-years-old will drink alcohol.
Unfortunately, an underage drinking conviction can seriously impact a teenager’s life. For example, in the state of Utah, if a teenager is convicted of underage drinking, the person’s license to drive could be suspended until the teenager turns 18-years-old or five years have passed, whichever is more. In fact, some teenagers who are convicted of underage drinking may be required to wear an ankle monitor or may even be subject to home confinement.
Attorney Catherine Cleveland understands the seriousness of such charges and believes individuals who find themselves in such situations should not try to handle the matter alone. The laws regarding underage drinking have changed over time, and it is important to understand how these laws apply to the facts of the person’s case. Whether the charges a teen faces involve the possession of alcohol or the use of a fake ID, it is important that the teenager is not unduly penalized, particularly if it was a one-time error in judgment.
While not every teenager in Utah will engage in underage drinking, those who do may find themselves facing long-term consequences if caught. The following web page on underage drinking in Utah may help individuals determine what steps to take to protect their legal interests.